Football Team Team of the Year

The Greater Houston-area also celebrated two football state champions this season. In Class 6A Division1, North Shore repeated as champions beating Duncanville for the 2nd consecutive year. The season wasn't without its challenges though. The Mustangs playing a little short-handed in the season opener lost a close one to longtime rival Katy by a final of 24-21.

After bouncing back with an easy win over Ridge Point, they squeaked by with a 24-21 win on a late field goal by John Villalobos Vill-uh-Loh-Bos. From there, the Mustangs were never seriously challenged as they defended their championship against Duncanville, winning by a final of 31-17. Junior quarterback Demetrius Davis was the team's most consistent player and earned MVP honors. For head coach Jon Kay, defending a state title proved to be more difficult than winning it the first time.

5A Shadow Creek

In 5A, Shadow Creek continued its historic run by going undefeated en route to a state championship in just its 2nd season of varsity competition. On their way to state, the Sharks had very little resistance with the exception of district rival Foster. Junior quarterback Kyron Drones was the catalyst for an offense that was one of the most explosive in the state. Drones accounted for 322 yards of total offense and 2 touchdowns in a hard fought 28-22 win over state powerhouse Denton Ryan. For head coach Brad Butler, the win was especially gratifying after coming up short the year before against Highland Park.